“The Secret World of Louis Lambert”

The Secret World of Louis Lambert (excerpt)

~The Secret World of Louis Lambert, A Novel by A. N. De Berry~

“Tell me, do you love her?” Lambert asked, as he sat down next to him in the garden.

James looked up into the branches of the trees, searching for an answer he need not search for. Of course I do, he thought as he watched the day’s dyeing twilight dance across the leaves; kissed so softly by a western wind.

“I do, more then anything,” James said, raising from his seat with a frustrated breath. “I fear how much I do,” he said as he began to pace. “Nothing has ever felt so right, and yet so undeserving. Since first kiss, my very breath seems but tribute that I would lovingly give,” James said before stopping. “I now have knowelege of a thing I would deem beyond beauty, beyond love, and yet feel ever so damned and cursed for it’s very knowing.”

“And why is that?” Lambert asked, meeting his troubled eyes.

“Because it is unreturned.” He said with a defeated shake of his head, “I addmit it, I tried dearly not to fall so, as she had admitted to me of trying likewise, but before a second breath I found my body aching in agony, and only realized then that I had already met earth.”

Lambert looked away from him and up to those same trees, watching the sun’s setting light, seemingly chase and flee the shadows, there numbers growing by the second. “It has be said,” he started, “that a love unreturned, is no lesser love, and no less important,” he told him, finishing just shy of a whisper. “You love her, fine. Now you must bear it, never doubting it. Emotions are ghastly things, but when one is lucky enough to understand the one’s that rule them, never betray them!” he said in confusion, bewildered by his own words. “Do so and you betray yourself, and in the end of all things, all we truly ever have in this world, is self. Never forget that.” He said with a shake of his head,  as he raised from his seat and turned to leave, “Never forget.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

